Health Literacy & Consumer Health Information: Databases

  Healthdirect Australia

Healthdirect is an Australian Federal Government health portal – links to information on a range of topics, organisations and resources for the Australian health consumer.

Consumer Health Forum   

Medical Online

 Australian Doctor

Each of the State Government's host a website, including:

• Better Health Channel (Vic)

• Health and Wellbeing (Qld)

• Tasmania (note does not include consumer health information)

• Health Topics A-Z (WA)

• Northern Territory (note does not include consumer health information)

• ACT (note does not include consumer health information)

• Health Topics A-Z (NSW)

• Health Topics (SA)

• Avoid Medicines Scams

• Patient Information Forum

• Behind the Headlines

• DISCERN

• NHS Consumer Education

• MedlinePlus
• MedicineNet
• Health Finder & Health Finder Kids (US based)
• Merck Manual 
• eMedicine
• National Guidelines Clearinghouse 

State Library Of Queensland
Provides online access to a range of databases. Includes full text e-books, e-journals. 

• Information and registration
• Health Databases

Accessss

Cochrane Library

Google Scholar

MedNar

National Library of Medicine (US)

PubMed & Medline provide online access to a range of articles, videos, client information resources, and systematic reviews. Includes some full text. Able to use clinical query search strategies. Subject strengths: medicine, nursing, allied health.

• PubMed (PubMed Help)
• Medline Plus

National Library of Australia

• Register to access all the National Library e-resources online.
• Health and medicine databases
• Consumer health complete (Ebsco)

Semantic Scholar

TRIP

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice (Training)
When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine^®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed^®. This course includes:·Scenarios,Try-It Exercises, and Additional Training.

PubMed Help