Skip to Main Content

Perioperative Nursing: Research

Resources to suport Perioperative Nursing.

Research

Research Header

Is it Research?

Your Queensland Health Librarian’s expertise centres on health information and they can undertake searching for work queries (ie not an individual's study). 

CKN provides access to a range of databases and training (registration required).

If you are starting on a new topic, refer to the Queensland Health Libraries Subject Guides.

Difference Between Quality Improvement, Evidence-Based Practice and Research

Quality Improvement
The purpose of QI projects is to correct workflow processes, improve efficiencies, reduce variations in care, and address clinical administrative or educational problems. The project is usually limited to a specific work place.

Evidence-Based Practice
Accessing and applying the best available research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values to improve outcomes.

Research
Study undertaken to generate new knowledge or to validate existing knowledge to answer a specific research question where not currently evident in the published literature.

(Source: Ginex, P.K. (2017). What is the difference between quality improvement, evidence-based practice, and research.  ONSVoice, August 29, 2017. https://voice.ons.org/news-and-views/oncology-research-quality-improvement-evidence-based-practice.) 

“How to work with your Librarian on QI/Research.” / Jane Orbell-Smith and Dr Hsien-Jin Teoh, CAHRLI Research and Quality Improvement Series, 19 August 2020 (Video and Fact Sheet).

CKN or QH Libraries?

 Not sure which website to start with? This table explains what you will find on QH Libraries and CKN. (Registration required for both services.)

 

Use QH Libraries:

 

 

 

Use CKN:
•To search databases.
•To access online training for databases.

How to Conduct a Literature Search

How to undertake a literature search: a step-by-step guide. / Mandy Watson. British Journal of Nursing, v.29 (7) 2020, pp. 431-435.

Abstract:

"Undertaking a literature search can be a daunting prospect. Breaking the exercise down into smaller steps will make the process more manageable. This article suggests 10 steps that will help readers complete this task, from identifying key concepts to choosing databases for the search and saving the results and search strategy. It discusses each of the steps in a little more detail, with examples and suggestions on where to get help. This structured approach will help readers obtain a more focused set of results and, ultimately, save time and effort."

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®. This course includes:·Scenarios,Try-It Exercises, and Additional Training.

See also: Handouts\ Literature Searching Handouts

Artificial Intelligence - AI

Artificial Intelligence (AI) search tools can be useful for finding resources; however, they do not critically appraise or evaluate, and do not search comprehensively. 

Selected AI Search Tools
Carrot (concept graphics) Med PaLM (Google permission required to trial)\
Elicit Undermind
LitSense Perplexity AI 
Advantages Limitations:
  • fast, widespread search of sources
  • can search similar terms not just keywords entered
  • can generate a summary based on abstracts searched
  • does not assess the quality of resources found
  • access free publications only 
  • some tools such as ChatGPT have been found to quote citations that do not exist.

Research Libraries Guiding Principles for Artificial Intelligence / Association of Research Libraries

Systematic Reviews

"A systematic review attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision making." (Cochrane Library, 2000-2019.)

Did you know Cochrane recommend including a health librarian on your systematic review team?

Systematic Review (image) / cebma.org

cebma.org

 

What Type of Review is Right for You? (Cornell University Library)

 

The Systematic Review Toolbox: keeping up to date with tools to support evidence synthesis. / Johnson, E.E. (et al). Syst Rev 11 (1) 2022: 258.

Software tools to support title and abstract screening for systematic reviews in healthcare: an evaluation. /  Harrison H, Griffin SJ, Kuhn I, Usher-Smith JA.  BMC Med Res Methodol. V.. 20(1) 2020, :7.

 EUnetHTA (European Network for Health Technology Assessment)

IEBH Systematic Review Accelerator

SuReinfo (Research-based information on information retrieval aspects of reviews and health technology assessments.)

Macros for translation of search strategies in bibliographic databases / Erasmus MC (Netherlands)

Define Your Question

Use search strategies to define your question.

PICO = Patient or Problem +  Intervention/Exposure/Prognasitc Factor + Comparison + Outcome

Evidence Based Medicine: PICO (Tutorial) Duke University + PICO Worksheet

Formulate an Answerable Question (Tutorial) Oxford University
PICO

Search Filters

 

Filter (image)

What are search filters? (Flinders University)

Topic search filters: a systematic scoping review. / Damarell RA, May N, Hammond S, Sladek RM, Tieman JJ. Health Info Libr J. 2018 Dec 21. doi: 10.1111/hir.12244.

Citations

Topics on this Page - Quick Links

  • CKN or Qld Health Libraries - What to Use?
  • Critical Appraisal
  • PRISMA & TARCIS Statements
  • EBP Databases
  • How to Literature Search
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Systematic Reviews
  • Research Data Management
  • Define the Question
  • Search Filters
  • Indigenous Australian Resources
  • Query Builder / Polyglot
  • Citations
  • Grey Literature

 

Critical Appraisal Tools

Some Recommended Resources

Tools
Training
Books
Articles How to Read a Paper / Trisha Greenhalgh (BMJ website)

Evidence Based Practice Databases

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice (Training)
When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®. This course includes:·Scenarios,Try-It Exercises, and Additional Training.

PubMed Help

Indigenous Australian Resources

Free Search Engines

Use these free, medically/scientific focused deep web search engines to retrieve citations:

Register as a Library and CKN Member - Required for 24/7 Online Access & to Borrow Resources

Register for both:

** For 24/7 access from any Internet connected device, make sure you register for both services on a QH computer at work.

If it takes more than 10 minutes...

Poster: Looking fror health information - if it takes more than 10 minutes, contact your health librarian.