Skip to Main Content

Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospital Libraries: Home

Website for Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospital Libraries

Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospitals' Libraries

Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospitals' Libraries

Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospitals’ Libraries provide our staff with access to the latest published evidence to ensure our patients have the best care possible. The Libraries support Metro North Hospital and Health Service staff based at Redcliffe, Caboolture and Kilcoy Hospitals, associated Satellite Hospitals, plus, the Woodford Correctional Centre.

The Service has a strong online component to ensure equity of access for patrons across all the sites. The professional Health Librarian assists all staff in the provision of quality patient focused care by applying high-level skills to source quality, evidence-based clinical and management information. In addition to the online resources, both Libraries maintain small collections of core texts.

How to Use this Guide Use the tabs towards the top of this page to navigate to further assistance. To print, scroll to the bottom of screen and select "Print Page".

Please Note The resources and links in this LibGuide are designed for Queensland Health staff; they may not work for non-Queensland Health employees.

Do you work at Herston?  Use the Herston Health Sciences Library at RBWH
MNHHS staff based at RBWH, STARS and Metro North Health Herston Campus - Access library services at Herston Health Sciences Library at RBWH under a funded UQ Library and RBWH/STARS service partnership agreement.

 

 

Using the Library - Video: select slide show - 6 mins (NB: Qld Health Login Required) 

 

New (image)


 

New books at Redcliffe - please see the list below


New Librarian at Redcliffe

Please join us in welcoming Librarian Laura Hurd from Wednesday 3rd January 2024. Laura will be based at Redcliffe Hospital Library on Thursdays and Fridays plus Wednesdays on alternate weeks.

Returning to Study

See our video to give you some tips to help you return to study.

 

Onsite support

  • Monday and Tuesday - Caboolture Hospital (Jane Orbell-Smith)
  • Thursday and Friday - Redcliffe Hospital (Laura Hurd)

Email redcablibrary@health.qld.gov.au for assistance or to make an appointment with a Librarian.

Standard Australia

Access for Metro North Health staff.

 

 

 

Who May Use the Library?

The Libraries are available for use to all Caboolture Hospital, Redcliffe Hospital, Kilcoy Hospital, Woodford Correction Centre Health staff, on-site placement students, and, the above Hospital's volunteers.

Staff at these services must be working a minimum of 20 hours per week to qualify for borrowing privileges for the Loan Collection are only provided to staff and University of Queensland Medical students on placement on-site. Registration is required. Many of our resources are online access. Note: Reference Collection items are only available for use within the Libraries.

Register as a Library and CKN Member - Required for 24/7 Online Access & to Borrow Resources

Register for both:

** For 24/7 access from any Internet connected device, make sure you register for both services on a QH computer at work.

Finding Information

The Librarian’s expertise centres on health information and she can undertake searching on your behalf for clinical care or projects (ie not personal study).

Access to a vast range of databases is provided via CKN. You can boost your search skills by participating in training; to get you started on your topic access the Queensland Health Libraries Subject Guides and utilise EndNote referencing software.

Request a literature search (registration required) - If your request is study related, please read the "Study Support" section on this page before submitting your request.

Ebooks and Ejournals

Full Text Online – Journals and Ebooks
The QH Libraries Websites hosts a range of full-text ebooks and journals. Search by full book or journal title or for a single article title. If you are after something that is not readily available, request the Librarian to get it for you (a cost-centre may be required for certain items). Patrons are encouraged to undertake training in the use of these resources.

Poster: Looking fror health information - if it takes more than 10 minutes, contact your health librarian.

Library Collection and Purchasing

The Libraries Collection Development Policy forms the basis for purchases for the Libraries.

Sections requiring books for their own work areas need to purchase these directly via their usual ordering means. Sections may request assistance from the Library to identify suppliers and/or costs and bibliographic details of required items.

The Libraries are not purchasing facilities and are not resourced to fill that role.

Search the Library's Catalogue

Members of the Public

Members of the Public
As specialist health libraries, the libraries do not allow access to the general public. We recommend members of the public speak with their health professional or use their local public library especially their Reference Librarian.

Professional Recognition and Attribution

Acknowledgement of expert health information services undertaken by the Librarian supporting your work is required and appreciated. Please discuss this with your librarian especially for work leading to publication or submitted reports.

Training and Education

Information literacy training is a major role of the Library Service ie how to find and utilise information effectively.  Training includes utilisation of CKN, databases and online resources, how to find information, how to conduct literature searches, and, utilising evidence-based resources. The Librarian is able to provide group or 1:1 training by appointment.

Training available includes "Find the Evidence: Effective Literature Searching", "EndNote: An Introduction", and "Returning to Study". For courses, dates and booking information, refer to LMS (via your work conputer's desktop icons). 

Study Support

Please note: The Library Services are not funded nor have capacity to provide individual study support. It is also against educational institutions policy for anyone other than the registered student to complete components of an assessable assignment this includes literature searches and retrieval of articles readily available from the Library's online resources.

You are however welcome to use any of the online resources or books via CKN, the Queensland Health Libraries Search or print materials within the library at your hospital, however, inter-library loans are not available. Remember to register before using the above services.

You can use your own University or TAFE library service to request books and or other support - this in part is what your fees cover.

Book Purchases
If you require a book to be purchased and it is not in either Redcliffe or Caboolture Hospital Libraries, options are: (a) use your professional development funds to purchase your own copy (b) purchase a copy for your work unit through your unit's business manager/admin support (c) borrow from the institution with whom you are studying. Materials purchased for the Libraries must fall within the Collection Development Policy (see below).

Copying
Our most current versions of texts are held in the Reference Collection; these items are not available for loan but you may copy material within Copyright allowances.

Exam Invigilation
Exam invigilation (supervision) may be provided on request subject to scheduling commitments of the Librarian.

Further Assistance

Libraries' Manager
Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospitals' Libraries

Education Centre
LMB 1 Redcliffe Qld 4020

P: 07 3883 7726
E: redcablibrary@health.qld.gov.au
W: http://redcab.libguides.com/RedCabLibrary/homepg

Search our Catalogue

NUC:QRH
 

Metro North Health acknowledge and pay respect to the Traditional Owners of the land where Metro North Health facilities now stand.