Skip to Main Content

Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospital Libraries: Home

Website for Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospital Libraries

The Libraries

Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospital Libraries

Libraries are found onsite in the Education Centres at Caboolture Hospital and Redcliffe Hospital. Staff have 24/7 access via their swipe cards. A range of online services are also available both on and off site.

Onsite support

  • Monday and Tuesday - Caboolture Hospital (Jane Orbell-Smith) NB: no onsite support 28/5 - 21/6 - Email for assistance.
  • Thursday and Friday - Redcliffe Hospital (Laura Hurd)

Email redcablibrary@health.qld.gov.au for assistance or to make an appointment with a Librarian. 

Redcliffe Hospital Library

Who May Use the Library?

The Libraries are available for use by Caboolture Hospital, Redcliffe Hospital, Kilcoy Hospital, Woodford Correction Centre Health staff, satellite facilities, on-site placement students, and, the above Hospital's volunteers.

Staff at these services must be working a minimum of 20 hours per week to qualify for borrowing privileges. The Loan Collection is only provided to staff and University of Queensland Medical students undertaking on-site placement. Registration is required. Many of our resources are online access. Note: Reference Collection items are only available for use within the Libraries.

Register as a Library and CKN Member - Required for 24/7 Online Access & to Borrow Resources

Register for both:

** For 24/7 access from any Internet connected device, make sure you register for both services on a QH computer at work.

Finding Information

The Librarian’s expertise centres on health information and she can undertake searching on your behalf for clinical care or projects (ie not personal study).

Access to a vast range of databases is provided via CKN. You can boost your search skills by participating in training; to get you started on your topic access the Queensland Health Libraries Subject Guides and utilise EndNote referencing software.

Request a literature search (registration required) - If your request is study related, please read the "Study Support" section on this page before submitting your request.

Ebooks and Ejournals

Full Text Online – Journals and Ebooks
The QH Libraries Websites hosts a range of full-text ebooks and journals. Search by full book or journal title or for a single article title. If you are after something that is not readily available, request the Librarian to get it for you (a cost-centre may be required for certain items). Patrons are encouraged to undertake training in the use of these resources.

Poster: Looking fror health information - if it takes more than 10 minutes, contact your health librarian.

Search the Library's Catalogue

Members of the Public

Members of the Public
As specialist health libraries, the libraries do not allow access to the general public. We recommend members of the public speak with their health professional or use their local public library especially their Reference Librarian.

Professional Recognition and Attribution

Acknowledgement of expert health information services undertaken by the Librarian supporting your work is required and appreciated. Please discuss this with your librarian especially for work leading to publication or submitted reports.

Training and Education

Information literacy training is a major role of the Library Service ie how to find and utilise information effectively.  Training includes utilisation of CKN, databases and online resources, how to find information, how to conduct literature searches, and, utilising evidence-based resources. The Librarian is able to provide group or 1:1 training by appointment.

Training available includes "Find the Evidence: Effective Literature Searching", "EndNote: An Introduction", and "Returning to Study". For courses, check with your Librarian

Library Collection and Purchasing

The Libraries' Collection Development Policy forms the basis for purchases for the Libraries. Materials purchased for the Libraries must fall within the Collection Development Policy (see below).

Sections requiring books for their own work areas need to purchase these directly via their usual ordering means. Sections may request assistance from the Library to identify suppliers and/or costs and bibliographic details of required items. The Libraries are not resourced to fulfil a purchasing facilities role.

 

Books for Study

Textbooks requiring purchase not in either Redcliffe or Caboolture Hospital Libraries by: (a) use of professional development funds to purchase a copy (b) work unit purchase through a unit's business manager/admin support processes, or, (c) item borrowing from the relevant educational institution.

Further Assistance

Libraries' Manager
Redcliffe and Caboolture Hospitals' Libraries

Education Centre
LMB 1 Redcliffe Qld 4020

P: 07 3883 7726
E: redcablibrary@health.qld.gov.au
W: http://redcab.libguides.com/RedCabLibrary/homepg

Search our Catalogue

NUC:QRH
 

Metro North Health acknowledge and pay respect to the Traditional Owners of the land where Metro North Health facilities now stand.