Your Queensland Health Librarian’s expertise centres on health information and they can undertake searching for work queries (ie not an individual's study).
CKN provides access to a range of databases (registration required).
If you are starting on a new topic, refer to the Queensland Health Libraries Subject Guides.
You can boost your search skills through training attendance, book through LMS.
Please Note The resources and links in this LibGuide are designed for Queensland Health staff. They may not work for non-Queensland Health employees.
Difference Between Quality Improvement, Evidence-Based Practice and Research
Quality Improvement
The purpose of QI projects is to correct workflow processes, improve efficiencies, reduce variations in care, and address clinical administrative or educational problems. The project is usually limited to a specific work place.
Evidence-Based Practice
Accessing and applying the best available research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values to improve outcomes.
Research
Study undertaken to generate new knowledge or to validate existing knowledge to answer a specific research question where not currently evident in the published literature.
(Source: Ginex, P.K. (2017). What is the difference between quality improvement, evidence-based practice, and research. ONSVoice, August 29, 2017. https://voice.ons.org/news-and-views/oncology-research-quality-improvement-evidence-based-practice.)
Not sure which website to start with? This table explains what you will find on QH Libraries and CKN.
 |
|
 •To search databases.
•To access online training for databases.
|
Abstract:
"Undertaking a literature search can be a daunting prospect. Breaking the exercise down into smaller steps will make the process more manageable. This article suggests 10 steps that will help readers complete this task, from identifying key concepts to choosing databases for the search and saving the results and search strategy. It discusses each of the steps in a little more detail, with examples and suggestions on where to get help. This structured approach will help readers obtain a more focused set of results and, ultimately, save time and effort."
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®. This course includes:·Scenarios,Try-It Exercises, and Additional Training.
Artificial Intelligence (AI) search tools can be useful for finding resources; however they do not critically appraise or evaluate, and do not search comprehensively.
Advantages:
Limitations:
Selected AI Search Tools:
Med PaLM (Google permission required to trial)
"A systematic review attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision making." (Cochrane Library, 2000-2019.)
Did you know Cochrane recommend including a health librarian on your systematic review team?
The Systematic Review Toolbox: keeping up to date with tools to support evidence synthesis. / Johnson, E.E. (et al). Syst Rev 11 (1) 2022: 258.
Software tools to support title and abstract screening for systematic reviews in healthcare: an evaluation. / Harrison H, Griffin SJ, Kuhn I, Usher-Smith JA. BMC Med Res Methodol. V.. 20(1) 2020, :7.
EUnetHTA (European Network for Health Technology Assessment)
IEBH Systematic Review Accelerator
SuReinfo (Research-based information on information retrieval aspects of reviews and health technology assessments.)
Macros for translation of search strategies in bibliographic databases / Erasmus MC (Netherlands)
|
Use search strategies to define your question. PICO = Patient or Problem + Intervention/Exposure/Prognasitc Factor + Comparison + Outcome Evidence Based Medicine: PICO (Tutorial) Duke University + PICO Worksheet Formulate an Answerable Question (Tutorial) Oxford University |
 |
|
|
What are search filters? (Flinders University) Topic search filters: a systematic scoping review. / Damarell RA, May N, Hammond S, Sladek RM, Tieman JJ. Health Info Libr J. 2018 Dec 21. doi: 10.1111/hir.12244.
|
Grey literature is research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form. Examples include: government reports. policy statements and issues papers.
Search Engines & Databases
Also check PubMed, GoogleScholar, and databases available via the CKN portal under the Research Databases side menu.
The NYU Health Sciences Library has put together a short video about best data management practices - including some great examples of what not to do!
The video outlines four data management tips:
Systematic Review Management Software Tools
Specifically tailored software designed to meet the requirements of systematic review teams. In addition to reference management, some help with data extraction, perform meta-analysis, track team progress, and facilitate communication between members.
Note, not every tool is appropriate for all synthesis or review types; select the right fit for your project.
EndNote - Bibliographic Software (QH License)
Covidence - Systematic Review Software (Check with your Research Team for possible access).
In addition to the above, there are a range of free and fee for use software available.
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice (Training)
When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®. This course includes:·Scenarios,Try-It Exercises, and Additional Training.
Use these free, medically/scientific focused deep web search engines to retrieve citations:
Register for both:
** For 24/7 access from any Internet connected device, make sure you register for both services on a QH computer at work.
