Getting Started in Queensland Health Libraries: Evidence Based Practice

"A systematic review attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision making." (Cochrane Library, 2000-2019.)

Did you know Cochrane recommend including a health librarian on your systematic review team?

The Systematic Review Toolbox: keeping up to date with tools to support evidence synthesis. / Johnson, E.E. (et al). Syst Rev 11 (1) 2022: 258.

Software tools to support title and abstract screening for systematic reviews in healthcare: an evaluation. /  Harrison H, Griffin SJ, Kuhn I, Usher-Smith JA.  BMC Med Res Methodol. V.. 20(1) 2020, :7.

 EUnetHTA (European Network for Health Technology Assessment)

IEBH Systematic Review Accelerator

SuReinfo (Research-based information on information retrieval aspects of reviews and health technology assessments.)

Macros for translation of search strategies in bibliographic databases / Erasmus MC (Netherlands)

Run your search on other databases / University of South Australia.

• Critical Appraisal Tools (Joanna Briggs Institute)
• Critical Appraisal Skills Programme

Columbus EBP Immersion : (Training course; includes links to lots of useful resources.)

Books:

Evidence Based Medicine, (5th Ed). / Sharon Straus, Paul Glasziou, W. Scott Richardson, R. Brian Haynes. ISBN: 9780702062964.

Users Guide to the Medical Literature:  A manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, (3rd ed). / Gordon Guyatt, Drummond Rennie, Maureen O. Meade, Deborah J. Cook.

Articles:

How to Read a Paper / Trisha Greenhalgh (BMJ website)

This page points you to some useful databases and websites to get you started in accessing quality health information.

• Accessss Smart Search
• BestBETS
• CKN
• Cochrane Library (Open access)   How to use Cochrane Library (tutorials)
• Campbell Collaboration (Systematic reviews on research in social and behavioural sciences)
• CupQ (Search engine for clinical evidence)
• Epistemonikos
• Finding the Evidence
• PubMed Labs (experimental site to test new PubMed features)
• NICE Evidence Search (National Institute for Health and Care Exellence  UK)
• Queensland Health Libraries
• Mednar (Medically focused deep web search engine)
• Grey Literaure for the Health Sciences (Uni of Melbourne LibGuide) 
• Semantic Scholar (Medically focused deep web search engine)

Medline, PubMed & PubMed Central
Medline is the National Library of Medicine (U.S.) journal citation database, it is a sub-set of PubMed that includes the NLM controlled vocabulary, Medical Subject Headings (MeSH^®), to index citations.

PubMed is a citation index for biomedical and life sciences literature.

PubMed Central is a repository for journal literature deposited by participating publishers and NIH Public Access Policy author manuscripts. 

(Source: NLM, 2022.)

Medline Complete (Ebsco) is available via CKN.

SearchRxiv (“search archive”)

Enables researchers to:

• Post their searches, ensuring credit for all those involved
• Obtain a digital object identifier (DOI) for their search, enabling it to be cited
• Share their searches in a consistent format, allowing others to re-use
• Comment on searches, allowing them to be improved
• Link searches to published articles as relevant
• Find it easier to follow best practice for structuring their search strategy
• Easily find relevant searches in their subject area by searching across search strings as well as metadata describing those search strings.

ECRI Guidelines Trust (US)

Brignardello-Petersen, R. (et al). (2021.) How to Interpret and Use a Clinical Practice Guideline or Recommendation: Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature. JAMA 326: 15, 1516-1523.

NSQHS Standards - Live Literature Searches

Evidence to support best practice in line with the Australian National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards via defined PubMed searches to retrieve articles from the last 5 years with a focus on the hospital setting.